Total beginner, totally confused

Home Forums Pianobook Total beginner, totally confused

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Participant

Hi folks

I’ve just found Pianobook and it looks incredible, but I don’t know how to use it.

I use Reaper and have a basic understanding of how to install plugins, but do I need to buy Kontakt in order to use the resources on here?

For example, I downloaded the Quarantine Piano and a free Kontakt 6 Player, but perhaps that’s not how you do it?

Any help greatly appreciated!

J

Marco IannelloMarco Iannello
    Participant

For those instruments that only come as a Kontakt instrument, yes, you do need Kontakt, and you need the full version of that. Those instruments do not work on the Player version of Kontakt, as Native Instruments require a fee to be able to make an instrument function in the Player version, and that fee is veeeery high.
    More and more instruments are being converted to Decent Sampler, which is a totally free sampler software, so you could use that, instead

Participant

Hi, it is often reported as you say, ‘those instruments do not work’, but in actual use,
    they will work in NI’s Kontakt demo mode.

From Native Instruments K6 Player FAQ,

https://www.native-instruments.com/en/products/komplete/samplers/kontakt-6-player/faq/

“Instruments that are not made for KONTAKT 6 PLAYER require the full version of KONTAKT 6 to run, but can be used for 15 minutes at a time in demo mode and without the ability to save your work.”