Say hello! (New Community Members Thread)

Home Forums Pianobook Say hello! (New Community Members Thread)

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 67 total)
  • Author
    rjbirkinrjbirkin
    Keymaster

This thread is for new members to introduce themselves. Say hello here!

Share a bit about yourself, perhaps about your background as a composer, sound designer, musician, what have you.

rjbirkinrjbirkin
    Keymaster

I’m a composer/recording artist/producer based in Derbyshire. Shed-based. I record under my full name Richard J. Birkin.

I use a lot of sample instruments for composing. Some of them get replaced by the real thing, some don’t. I found Pianobook via Christian’s vlog, and it has really encouraged me to start sampling. I haven’t made anything finished enough to share yet, but recently made a commission almost solely out of these efforts.

I get about half my income from music, and the other half from digital consultancy. I have a long and varied history working for startups and creative agencies. I contact Christian in January about helping out with Pianobook web stuff and ended up working with Stephen and Kelan to rebuild the website.

Howdy!

KRooneyMusicKRooneyMusic
    Keymaster

Hello everyone!

My name’s Kelan and I’m a composer based in Edinburgh, Scotland. I currently work out of my flat, and occasionally a mountaintop!

I discovered the Pianobook community about a year ago and I’ve been so amazed by everything going on here. As most of my work is done with samples, this has become both an extraordinary tool, and a source of inspiration for my writing. I’ve managed to submit one instrument so far, and plan on adding many more!

I am currently working as an overseer/helper for all things Pianobook, and spend time helping Christian with his vlogs. Other than that I work as a freelance composer for all sorts of media.

I can’t wait to see where this project will take the community, and I’m thrilled to be a part of it!

Happy sampling!

ConnerConner