Home Forums Pianobook Linux Users

Tagged: 

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Participant

Hello,

I am a third-year student at a college in the US, planning to study Music Technology for graduate studies. I haven’t done much composing on a DAW apart from a project done to learn Ableton Live using the school’s iMac. I recently found out about Spitfire Labs and inevitably the pianobook community. I have been really wanting to try out these samples but unfortunately I can only use Ubuntu because of the specs available for my personal laptop and the workaround on having Kontakt player and Spitfire software with Wine hq emulator on Linux has been unsuccessful so far.

I was content at first with VCV rack being available for Linux but would still like to have more arsenal for my compositions.

I was hoping if anyone here is also a Linux user trying these samples to work with whatever they have and to guide me and others through the process.

Regards,
    Mothi

Participant

Mothi,

I posted earlier but can’t see it here: I run Linux on my studio machine, using Ardour (DAW, recording samples), Audacity (editing samples), Noise Repellent (an LV2 plugin which does spectral noise analysis / reduction), and sfizz (SFZ player, both standalone and as an LV2 plugin). The Virtual Playing Orchestra is a large set of SFZ instruments, based on the Sonatina Symphonic Orchestra and a bunch of others.

In addition to the pure FLOSS tools, I have gotten several of Spitfire’s non-Kontact instruments running under a very recent version of Wine.

A good overall resource is the Linux Musicians forum.

Hope that helps!

Tres.

Participant

Yay! Another linux user here 🙂

Tres – thanks so much for the heads-up on sfizz! That’s truly amazing – it looks so much easier to use than messing about with linuxsampler (sorry LS, you’re great and all, but just so damned stuck in your ways!).