Home Forums Pianobook K4 Samples in Decent Sampler Format

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Paul Waring
    Participant

Hi All,

I’m new here!

I have converted 67 Kawai K4 patches, I sampled back in 2006, into Decent Sampler instruments.

Is this the kind of thing you folks might be interested in?

I am happy to submit them but it may take me a while as I think it best to upload them individually as the whole set weighs in at 1.6Gb.

Thanks,

Paul.

Sid
    Participant

I am not a lawyer, and this is not legal advice.
    Many original synth patches are under copyright, and are specifically forbidden to be copied/recorded to create other musical instruments. They may be recorded as part of a musical work, but not as a sound library.
    The last thing we want to do is to get PianoBook in hot water over copyrights and potentially shut down.

So, do you know the origins of the synth patches? did you create them, or were they created by Kawai or a third party?

Paul Waring
    Participant

Some of the patches are heavily modified by me, others may be stock.

I don’t want to get myself or anyone else into trouble, so I won’t distribute the samples.

I will however contact Kawai to ask if I can have their permission.

Paul Waring
    Participant

I’ve been in contact with Kawai in Japan.

The gentleman I have been dealing with says he will have to discuss it with his colleagues and get back to me in day or so.

It would appear that they don’t get asked for permission for this kind of thing.

Paul Waring
    Participant

I have received a reply from Kawai, Japan. They have given me permission to upload my instruments.

I received a response from some colleagues in R&D regarding your request.

Basically, we will allow you to upload the samples you have prepared, and Kawai will not complain nor pursue any legal action against you.